Volume V
Log in

Login to your account

Username *
Password *


Arrangement of Sections

1. Short title.

2. Incorporation of the board of directors of the Muslim Ladies College.

3. Office-bearers of the board.

4. The Executive Committee.

5. The use of a common seal.

6. Powers of the board in regard to property.

7. Tenure of office of member of board or office-bearer.

8. Appointment of successors.

9. Resignation of Directors.

10. Meetings of the board and Executive Committee.

11. The president.

12. The secretary.

13. The treasurer and accounts of the board.

14. Powers of Executive Committee.

15. Power to make rules.

16. Saving of the rights of the Crown and others.

19 of 1956.

AN ACT to incorporate the board of directors of the Muslim Ladies College.

[Date of Commencement: 17th February, 1956]

1. Short title.

This Act may be cited as the Muslim Ladies College Board of Directors Act.

2. Incorporation of the board of directors of the Muslim Ladies College.

(1) The board of directors of the Muslim Ladies College (hereinafter referred to as "the college”) shall be a body corporate (hereinafter referred to as "the board”) with perpetual succession, a common seal and the name "The Board of Directors of the Muslim Ladies College”. The board may sue and be sued by that name.

(2) Subject to the provisions of section 7, the board shall consist of the following persons—

(1) Sir Razik Fareed, O B E, J P, U M, M P.

(2) Mr M H M Yusoof.

(3) Mr M F A. Jaward.

(4) Mr Rasheed Bin Hassan.

(5) Mr M I M Haniffa, B A (Lond.), Advocate, J P.

(6) Mr M N Naina Marikar, B Sc (Eng.) (Lond.)

(7) Mr A H Macan Markar, B A, LL B (Cantab.) Bar-at-Law, M M C.

(8) Mr M S Alif, Proctor, S C, and Notary Public.

(9) Mr W M Hassim, J P.

(10) Mr A I L Marikar.

(11) Mr M Salih Mohideen.

(12) Mr A R M Mukthar.

(13) Mr S L M Sheriff Hadjiar.

(14) Mr A I Macan Markar, M A (Cantab.), A C A.

(15) Mr M Ismail Bin Ibrahim.

(16) Dr M A Macan Markar, M B, B S (Ceylon), M R C P, M D (Lond.).

(17) Senator K Adamally, J P, O B E.

(18) Dr M P Drahman, L M S (Ceylon), M B E.

(19) Mr A Aziz, B Com (Bombay).

This section of the article is only available for our subscribers. Please click here to subscribe to a subscription plan to view this part of the article.