Volume V
Log in

Login to your account

Username *
Password *


Arrangement of Sections

1. Short title.

2. Incorporation of the Mahamantinda Vidyarakshaka Sabha.

3. Objects of the Corporation.

4. The council of the Corporation.

5. Board of management, and office-bearers of the Corporation.

6. Advisory board.

7. The director and the principal of the pirivena.

8. Meetings.

9. Corporation may hold property.

10. Funds of the Corporation.

11. Rules.

12. Seal of the Corporation.

13. Saving of the rights of the Republic and others.

20 of 1956.

AN ACT to incorporate the Mahamantinda Vidyarakshaka Sabha of Matara.

[Date of Commencement: 17th February, 1956]

1. Short title.

This Act may be cited as the Mahamantinda Vidyarakshaka Sabha Act.

2. Incorporation of the Mahamantinda Vidyarakshaka Sabha.

The persons who, at t he commencement of this Act, are members of the Mahamantinda Vidyarakshaka Sabha (hereinafter referred to as "the Sabha”) and such other persons as are hereafter enrolled as members of the sabha shall be a body corporate (hereinafter referred to as "the Corporation”) with perpetual succession, a common seal and the name "The Mahamantinda Vidyarakshaka Sabha”. The Corporation may sue and be sued by that name.

3. Objects of the Corporation.

The general objects of the Corporation shall be—

(a) the management and maintenance of the Mahamantinda Pirivena situated at Weliveriya in Matara (hereinafter referred to as "the Pirivena”) and the other institutions connected therewith and founded, held, or presided over, by the late Venerable Bedigama Sri Ratnapala Nayaka Thero and the late Venerable Babarende Sri Dharmawasa Nayaka Thero;

(b) the management and maintenance of any other schools or institutions which may hereafter be established;

(c) the establishment, management and maintenance of centres for scientific and religious research;

(d) the propagation of the Buddha dhamma and the promotion of Buddhist culture; and

(e) the printing and publishing of books, journals, newspapers, and pamphlets.

4. The council of the Corporation.

(1) The Corporation shall have a council which shall consist of—

(a) twenty life-members, and

(b) eighty ordinary members elected annually in accordance with the rules for the time being of the Corporation.

(2) The council shall, in accordance with the provisions of subsection (1) of section 5, elect at its first meeting for each year, which shall be held on a date not less than fourteen days before the date of the annual general meeting of the Corporation, the persons who shall constitute the board of management of the Corporation for that year.

(3) The following shall be life-members of the council—

1. N W Samarasekera, Esq, Main Street, Matara.

2. D Wanigasekara, Esq, MBE, Akuressa.

3. C A Ariyatilaka, Esq, JP, Matara.

4. C Wijesinghe, Esq, OBE, Kamburupitiya.

5. Muhandiram A D S Weerasinghe, Gabadaweediya, Matara.

6. A Weeratunga, Esq, Walgama, Matara.

7. D S Gunawardhana, Esq, Matara.

8. D Weeratunga, Esq, Proctor, SC, Matara.

9. H M D Ekanaika, Esq, Matara.

10. D J Kumarage, Esq, MBE, Matara.

11. D E Siriwardhana, Esq, Kotawila.

12. B E Samarasekera, Esq, Matara.

13. D M Wanigasekera, Esq, Wewahamanduwa, Matara.

This section of the article is only available for our subscribers. Please click here to subscribe to a subscription plan to view this part of the article.