Volume I
Log in

Login to your account

Username *
Password *


Arrangement of Sections

1. Short title.

2. Constitution of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal.

3. Powers of the Tribunal.

4. Procedure for preferring an appeal.

5. Public Service Commission and the National Police Commission to be notified.

6. Tribunal to satisfy itself of prima facie grievance.

7. Disposal of appeals.

8. Decision of the Tribunal.

9. Officers and servants of the Tribunal.

10. No suit or prosecution to lie against the Tribunal.

11. Sinhala text to prevail in case of inconsistency.

4 of 2002.

AN ACT to provide for the constitution of an Administrative Appeals Tribunal; to specify the powers of such tribunal and the procedure to be adhered to by such tribunal in respect of appeals and to provide for matters connected therewith or incidental thereto.

[Date of Commencement: 25th March, 2002]

1. Short title.

This Act may be cited as the Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act.

2. Constitution of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal.

(1) The Administrative Appeals Tribunal established under paragraph (1) of Article 59 of the Constitution, (hereinafter referred to as the "Tribunal”) shall consist of three members appointed by the Judicial Service Commission, from among persons who have had over twenty years of experience as a public officer or ten years of experience in the legal profession, one of whom shall be appointed it's Chairman.

This section of the article is only available for our subscribers. Please click here to subscribe to a subscription plan to view this part of the article.